According to the publication, the call was made by Germany, France, Austria, Belgium, Denmark and Sweden. They sent a letter to the first Vice-President of the European Commission Franz Timmermans and the Commissioner for home Affairs and migration Affairs, Mr Dimitris Avramopoulos to the control from mid-may could be extended for at least another six months. Countries are asked to run the necessary mechanism provided for by the Schengen code on borders, reports DW.

Brussels in the middle of next week will allow the extension of controls at internal borders as the external borders of the EU remain insufficiently protected, said in this regard, the Die Welt sources at the European Commission.

Extension of the measure necessary in order to better control the flows of migrants, told the edition a source in government circles of Germany. While earlier, the country's interior Minister Thomas de Maiziere has expressed hope that monitoring can be unnecessary: "If the number of arriving migrants will remain so low, we won't prolong border control after may 12".

At the end of January 2016, it became known that the EU countries asked the European Commission to prepare the legal basis for the extension of border controls within the Schengen zone. Under current rules, Schengen countries can enter their border controls for a maximum of six months. But the Schengen borders code provides for emergency extension checks for such period, in which their total length will reach the greatest two years.