The French have won five of their six previous home qualifying matches and knew that a victory over Belarus at the "Stade de France" will bring them a direct ticket to Russia. Antoine Griezmann and Olivier Giroud scored a goal in the first 33 minutes, and return the ball to Anton Saraki though and made a little nervous "tricolor", but the final result is not affected — 2:1. The French scored three points and can look forward to the world Cup-2018.

A direct ticket to Russia and got Portugal, led by Cristiano Ronaldo. After a home win of Switzerland over Portugal last fall, most forecasts was to ensure that the fate of first place in group b will be determined in the second leg, scheduled at the last round. And so it happened. The Portuguese and scored more and passed less, but because in Lisbon they accepted the victory with any account.

At the end of the first half, one shot led to an own goal the Swiss defender Johan Djourou, and in the 57th minute, andré Silva made a spectacular combination, cross on the far post Bernardo Silva. As a result, Portugal is going to Russia, and Switzerland will compete for a place in the play-offs.

In addition to the Swiss in the play-offs will play the teams of Greece, Denmark, Ireland, Italy, Northern Ireland, Croatia, Sweden and Switzerland. The draw for this stage will take place in Zurich on 17 October. The teams will be seeded according to FIFA rankings published the day before the draw. Four teams with a higher rating will be in the first basket, the other four in the second.

The draw result will be four pairs. The teams will play each other home and away. The order of matches will be determined by a draw. The first matches will be held on November 9-11, and the return from 12 to 14 November. The winners of the four pairs will go to the world Cup in Russia.

Recall that in Europe the winners of the nine qualifying teams directly qualify to the world championship. The eight best runners-up (the results against the first, third, fourth and fifth teams in the group) fell into the "joints". Results against sixth places were not taken into account that participants in groups with six teams had the advantage over members of groups with five teams.

World Cup 2018 will be held from 14 June to 15 July at 12 stadiums in 11 cities of Russia: Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Saransk, Rostov-on-don, Sochi and Yekaterinburg.