The women's tennis Association (WTA) has opened the voting for members of the media for the best players of the season in various categories. The title of the best female tennis player of the year expect Simona Halep (Romania), Garbine Muguruza (Spain), Alain Ostapenko (Latvia), Karolina Pliskova (Czech Republic), Elina Svitolina (Ukraine) and Venus Williams (USA).

According to the results of voting will determine the winners in four other categories: "Best duet", "Breakthrough of the year", "Rookie of the year" and "comeback of the year". The survey will last until October 16. The winners of the WTA will be called during the final tournament in Singapore, which will be held from 22 to 29 October.

Recall that this year, Ostapenko won the first two titles in his career. In the summer she won the tournament "Grand slam" — the Open championship of France. In September, the Latvian tennis player has achieved success at the tournament in Seoul.

Candidates for WTA awards

Player of the year: Simona Halep (Romania), Garbine Muguruza (Spain), Elena Ostapenko (Latvia), Karolina Pliskova (Czech Republic), Elina Svitolina (Ukraine), Venus Williams (USA).

Duo of the year: Ungani Chan (Chinese Taipei) / Martina Hingis (Switzerland) Ekaterina Makarova (Russia) / Elena Vesnina (Russia), bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA) / Lucie Safarova (Czech Republic).

Breakthrough of the year: Caroline Garcia (France), Kristina Mladenovic (France), Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia), Elina Svitolina (Ukraine), Coco Vandeweghe (USA).

Rookie of the year: Catherine Bellis (USA), Beatriz Haddad Maia (Brazil), Elise Mertens (Belgium), Market Vondrousova (Czech Republic).

Comeback of the year: Ashleigh Barty (Australia) Madison keys (USA), Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic), Sloane Stephens (USA)