After the last trainings of the candidates outside the team remained defenders of the Christian Rubin, renārs demiters and Kristaps Zile, forwards Kaspars Saulietis, Arthur Ozolins and Nikolay Yeliseyev.

The final list included 25 players — three goalkeepers, eight defenders and 14 forwards. Almost half of the stand for Riga "Dinamo" (12).

In addition to Riga of the KHL is also represented in the team Daugavins (NIZHEGORODSKOE "torpedo") and Masalskis (Togliatti "Lada"), two players are in the KHL (Siksna and Shirokov), one in the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Italy, Hungary, and Switzerland.

From overseas came Girgensons ("Buffalo", NHL), & Abels (WHL), Freibergs (ECHL) and Canines (AHL), who last joined the team: player "Utica", in this season played 8 games in the NHL for Vancouver, arrived in Riga on 2 may.

For the world championship the national team of Latvia is sent with four debutants — goalkeeper of Merzlikina, defender of Sixny and attack Bicevskis and E. Kulda. Besides them a single match at the world Championships is not held, and the third goalkeeper Kalanisi (got in the proposal at previous tournaments).

The team's task — to get into the top 10. The same goal was on the world Cup 2015. But a year ago in Prague Latvia haven't won in regulation time in any match and eventually finished 13th. Outside the top ten, the team remained on the last three world Championships, and given the last six years in the top ten it was only once — at the world Cup-2012 (10-th place).

The composition of bonoi Latvia world Cup-2016

Goalkeepers — Edgar Masalsky ("Lada" in the KHL), Elvis Merzlikin (Lugano, Switzerland), Janis Kalnins ("Szekesfehervar", Hungary)

defenders — Janis Andersons (Zvolen, Slovakia), Ralfs Freibergs (Toledo, ECHL), Maxim Shirokov ("Starting", Italy), Edgars Siksna ("Saryarka", KHL), Kristaps Sotnieks, Guntis galvins, Alexander Erofeev, Oscar Cibulskis (Dinamo Riga).

forwards — Rodrigo Abols (Portland, WHL), Roberts Bukarts ("Zlin", Czech Republic), Alexei Shirokov ("oilman", KHL), Ronald Canines ("Utica, AHL), Kaspars Daugavins (torpedo, KHL), Maris Bicevskis, Andris Jerins, Michael Redlich, Edgars Kulda, Gunnar Skvortsov, Vitaly Pavlov, Gints Meia, Miks Indrasis (Dinamo Riga), Zemgus Girgensons ("Buffalo", NHL).