23 countries of the European Union laid the Foundation of the European defensive Alliance, signed in Monday, 13 November, official notification of the extension of "permanent structured cooperation" is the Permanent Structured Cooperation (PESCO) is in the military and defense sector, according to the website of the European Council following the meeting of foreign Ministers and defense ministries of the EU countries.

About expanding defense cooperation was agreed between the representatives of all EU member States except Denmark, Ireland, Malta, Portugal and the UK, who intends to leave the EU in March 2019. These 5 countries can join the agreement later. After the signing of the document was forwarded to the high representative of the Union for foreign Affairs and security policy Federica Mogherini and the Council.

The increase in the defence budget

Notice of PESCO contains the principles underlying cooperation, as well as a list of the 20 commitments that participants take on. Among them — the regular increase in the defence budget "to achieve agreed goals", as well as participation in joint defence projects.

The official start of the cooperation is scheduled for December 11. Then the next meeting of the Council of the EU, which must be approved by the agreement.